8 MLAs said bye to Congress in Goa

Amaravathi: As the confidence in the leadership of the Congress party is eroding, MLAs, senior and junior leaders of the Congress party are queuing up to join the BJP.In this context, the Congress in Goa suffered an immeasurable setback.8 out of 11 Congress MLAs joined BJP on Wednesday.Digambar Kamat, Michael Lobo, Delilah Lobo, Rajesh Paldesai, Kedar Naik, Sankalp Amonkar, Alexo Sequeira, Rudolph Fernandes are among those who joined the Lotus party..Michael Lobo said that he joined BJP to strengthen the leadership of Prime Minister Modi and CM Pramod Sawant.There are 40 MLAs in Goa Assembly.Among them, there are 20 MLAs for BJP and 11 for Congress. If two-thirds leave the party, they can avoid disqualification under the Anti-Defection Act.

In the past, there were reports that some Congress MLAs would switch parties, but it was settled with the intervention of the leadership. It is noteworthy that this incident took place at a time when Rahul Gandhi was going on a Bharat Jodo Yatra to unite the country.


Power Of News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *